Get the Thatch app

Brown Rice by Neals' Yard Remedies

About Brown Rice by Neals' Yard Remedies

Get the inside scoop on Brown Rice by Neals' Yard Remedies from local experts, travel creators, and tastemakers. Browse genuine trip notes, Brown Rice by Neals' Yard Remedies reviews, photos, travel guides, and itineraries from real travelers and plan your trip with confidence.

What people say

"Categories: vegan, vegetarian, Organic dishes A trendy vegan spot, although there can be a slight wait at busy times, there is both outdoor and indoor seating and the atmosphere is fantastic on a sunny day. One of the best places for vegan food in Tokyo!"
"Brown Rice offers menus that feature Japanese traditional ingredients such as seasonal vegetables, brown rice, and soybeans. All the dishes are prepared with fresh ingredients delivered to the kitchen every morning."

Mentioned in these guides

A digital travel guide containing vegan, vegetarian, macrobiotic, organic, and gluten-free restaurants in Japan. Majority of them are located in Tokyo, but I've also included some excellent spots in Kyoto and Fukuoka. 🌟 I’ve organized each restaurant with a convenient category that explains what type of food they serve 🌟 I’ve also included links to their websites/social media. This guide contains 50 locations with many varieties of food, including: 🍰🍩 desserts 🍜🥢 ramen 🌮🍔 international cuisine 🍛🍱 Japanese food ☕️🥪 cafes and bakeries 💖💰 higher end restaurants for a special meal 📌 This guide also includes a zero-waste Guesthouse that has an earth-friendly plant-based café and bar, that sells by weight, without trash. 💕✨ I've also created a FREE vegan and vegetarian Japanese word and phrase list to help you navigate Japan, so you can just show people your phone, and point. I’ve also including a handy Gluten Free phrase and help guide, too. My hope is that even if you don't purchase my guide, these free phrase lists will at least help you! ✨ ☆︶︶︶︶☆ ︶︶︶︶☆ Helpful Terms for Vegan and Vegetarian travellers: The more commonly used terms: vegetarian: ベジタリアン (beh-ji-tarian) vegan: ヴィーガン (vui-gan) OR ビーガン (bee-gan) The more traditional terms: Buddhist vegan: 完全菜食主義者 (kanzen saishoku shugisha) vegetarian 菜食主義者 (saishoku shugisha) ☆︶︶︶︶☆ ︶︶︶︶☆ NOTE: Even if you’re vegan, it’s good to start with this phrase, “beh-ji-tarian des” (I’m vegetarian) since it is already rare to be a vegetarian in Japan. Saying you’re vegan will go over many people's heads, so if they say that they "can’t serve a vegetarian", they definitely can not serve a vegan. Some helpful phrases you can keep handy on your phone: I don’t eat meat, seafood, eggs and dairy products 肉とシーフードと卵と乳製品を食べません (o-niku, shifudo, tamago, to nyūseihin wo tabemasen) I don’t eat pork 豚肉を食べません (buta niku wo tabemasen) I don’t eat chicken 鶏肉を食べません (tori niku wo tabemasen) I don’t eat fish stock 魚のだしを食べません (sakana no dashi wo tabemasen) I don’t eat eggs 卵を食べません (tamago wo tabemasen) I don’t eat cheese チーズを食べません (chizu wo tabemasen) ☆︶︶︶︶☆ ︶︶︶︶☆ How to express having an allergy: I am allergic to shrimp エビのアレルギーがあります (ebi no arerugi ga arimasu) For example: I am allergic to _____________________ _____________________ の アレルギーがあります _____________________ no arerugi ga arimasu ☆︶︶︶︶☆ ︶︶︶︶☆ GLUTEN FREE TIPS: Many Japanese dishes contain soy sauce and/or miso, and most of them contain gluten. I am allergic to wheat 小麦アレルギーです (Komugi arerugi desu) 麩 質 Fushitsu is the Japanese word for gluten グ ル テ ン sometimes it is written in Katakana, as “gu-ru-ten” Things to avoid: 小麦, 小麦 粉 Komugi is wheat, komugiko is wheat flour. 麦 Mugi is barley, usually in mugicha, barley tea. Or rye, called rye-mugi (ライ麦). 醤 油 Shoyu, or soy sauce 味噌 Miso paste 水 飴 Mizuame, or malt syrup, and barley malt syrup are in many sweets Helpful Phrases: I cannot eat food that contains gluten. So I cannot eat anything made with wheat, rye or barley. That means that I cannot eat soy sauce which contains wheat, or miso that contains wheat. 私はグルテンを含む食品が食べられません。小麦・大麦・ライ麦が使われているものは全部です。そのため、小麦を原料としている醤油や味噌もいっさい口にできません。 I have a serious disease called celiac disease, so that I cannot eat food that contains gluten. I cannot eat anything made with wheat, rye, or barley. I cannot eat soy sauce which contains wheat or miso that contains wheat. 私は、グルテンの摂取によって発症する「セアリック病」という深刻な病気をもっています。そのため、小麦・大麦・ライ麦が使われている食品は食べられません。小麦を原料としている醤油や味噌もいっさい口にできません。 Does this contain wheat? これは小麦を使っていますか。 Does this contain barley? これは大麦を使っていますか。 Does this contain soy sauce? これは醤油を使っていますか。 When you go to a chicken grilling shop, they can dip it in a sauce which contains soy sauce, but you can ask them to do the salt sprinkled version instead: Can you do shio-yaki (salt-flavored)? 塩だけで焼いてもらえますか。
Vegan • Gluten-free / Celiac • Vegetarian • Female Solo • Couples • Foodie • Vegan • Gluten Free • Vegetarian • Cafes and Bakeries • Japanese Food • Higher End Cuisine • Sustainable/Eco • Coffee • Wellness
$15.00
4.7
(3)
119